My First Experience with Oil Pulling

Before you jump to conclusions, I didn’t walk in on my boyfriend “trying something new”.

Get your mind out of the gutter. Jeesh!

Oil pulling is an ancient ritual which involves swishing oil, such as coconut, sunflower or olive oil around in the mouth. It’s an ancient Ayurvedic remedy, but was introduced again in 1992, by Dr. F. Karach. Now the thought of swishing coconut oil around in my mouth for 20 minutes really appeals to me, because, well, coconut oil! Do I really need to say any more?

I’ve already tried coconut oil as deodorant, and that was awesome, so I’m open to trying to do anything with the stuff.

…except for what some of your perverted minds originally thought.

Oil pulling apparently boasts many benefits, such as:

Oral hygiene. Gum health and tooth whitening, Strengthening of gums, teeth and jaws (must be all the swooshing), and bad breath prevention. Coconut burps seem slightly appealing to me…

Migraine relief. I’m finding this one hard to believe.

Boosted metabolism, Okay, everything claims to boost your metabolism, but I’d rather swish coconut oil than take some “magic” pill. Actually I wonder if it could help get rid of cravings.

Reduced hangover. I’ll be giving that one a try. Usually I depend on a big tub of Ben & Jerry’s and a bottle of Lucozade.

There’s an article on oil pulling here, which goes more into detail than I have. Seriously, check it out. There’s so many possible benefits!

I decided to try oil pulling this morning, because they say to do it before you’ve eaten or drank anything. I swished around a tablespoon of yummy coconut oil for 20 minutes. I think some people do it for 15, but I did 20. It wasn’t too hard, apart from the fact everything made me want to laugh. I think it’d be great to sit and use it as a form of meditation. Oh, and don’t gargle.

I accidentally swallowed a bit, which you’re supposed to avoid doing, as there will be a lot of bacteria in it. I set an alarm so I could watch Sherlock while waiting for it to sound. It didn’t feel like forever, like I thought it would. When the alarm went, I spat it into my front garden. You’d think I would have spat it into the sink or toilet, but coconut oil can solidify and interfere with your plumbing.

After I spat out the oil came the nasty part. I got warm salt water and swished it around for two minutes, to rinse my mouth out. I’m not sure if the water needs to be warm, or needs to be swished for two minutes, but I was too lazy to look it up again. Accidentally swallowing coconut oil was fine, but accidentally swallowing salt water was just plain nasty!

Here’s my teeth before oil pulling:

wpid-20140322_151049.jpg

and here they are after:

wpid-20140322_153530.jpg

Now, I don’t exactly see a difference, but my teeth have been feeling clean all day. Obviously I haven’t noticed any other benefits, since it’s only my first try. But I’ll be doing this again, since everyone seems to be raving about it.

I’d love to hear any benefits you have noticed. Success stories are always welcome!

signature

One thought on “My First Experience with Oil Pulling

  1. Pingback: Oil Pulling: Transform Your Health With An Ancient Ayurvedic Remedy « Keitochan Says:

Don't be shy - express your thoughts!

