Escaping The Happiness Trap: Naming Stories

Today’s challenge was to treat our negative thoughts as stories and give them a name. I’ll give you an example: I was walking down the street and there was a class of schoolkids walking towards me and I thought “Oh no, they’re going to say something about how I look. Kids are too honest.” I caught myself thinking this and thought “Ah, the everyone’s out to hurt me story.” I said it sarcastically, which I think I wasn’t supposed to do, but I can’t fight my sarcasm.

I like the idea of this technique. It’s like I have an imaginary friend reminding me that my thought’s are not real. I kind of want to give him/her a name now that I think of it. I’ll call her Britney (after Britney Spears – she got back up after having a breakdown so she’ll be my imaginary ACT buddy). I didn’t notice any benefits other than the formation of Britney, but I’m hopeful I can condition myself to reap some benefits. See, my mistake was, I was hoping to numb my thoughts. Therefore I was disappointed when it didn’t work.

Also, I did 10 deep breaths today, where I focused on my breathing and observed my thoughts. This is my first day of 5 doing deep breathing (twice a day), then I can move on to learn more.

Tomorrow is a day I have been dreading. Thanking my mind for producing a constant stream of thoughts (even the negative ones!) How am I going to do this without being sarcastic? This will be interesting…

signature

 

 

Meet Britney. Created using Marvel's Create Your Own Superhero

Meet Britney. Created using Marvel’s Create Your Own Superhero

Don't be shy - express your thoughts!

